The City of Pines… Baguio City, Philippines isn’t just an ordinary city. It is a city built in the middle of the forests, in between mountains, on top of the world (where the cold never bothered the people anyway 😂). But wait, let me set some expectations for you: First, you have to go through a long, zigzag road, and conquer all mountains hiding the beauty of it. Second, it would be a giddying, dizzying trip as long as six hours of left and right, up and down (depending on where you’re coming from), so make sure you take antiemetics or anticholinergics prior to your travel (and plastic bags too, just in case). And lastly, you must prepare yourself (your mind, your heart and your soul) for some freakin’ steep, frightening, not so wide city roads you’ve never encountered anywhere (but don’t worry, the drivers are experts… and the wheels too). 👍

I went there with my bestfriend Maye and my backpack for the reason that I only wanted to experience a cold city day which I never got to experience in Manila. So here, I’ll share a little bit of Baguio to you guys.

We greeted sunshine at the Pink Sisters’ Convent and Chapel. Visit here, take a few minutes to pray, write your petitions, and you prayers will be answered. One of the best places to have a heart-to-heart talk with God, so peaceful and solemn.

image

Next stop was at Baguio Botanical Garden where you can try out some Ifugao native clothes for a small fee and you can take unlimited shots. Never miss the chance to be a native in a short period of time.

image

Get lost in the length of pine trees just waiting to engulf you and bring you to the wilderness. Are we out of the woods?

image

Cool green and blue in front of you, how relaxing is that? At Mines View, you are on top of the world. You can also buy  some plants and orchids at the entrance, take pictures while riding a horse or sitting beside a very large, kind dog for cheap prices.

image

Swanboat at Burnham Park is one you can’t ignore. For a cheap amount you can either choose a de-pedal or a de-sagwan (pedal or paddle 😁) swanboat and roam around the lake for 30 minutes. Both kinds are tiring but too enjoyable, just be careful for you might end up like a bumpboat if you don’t know how to drive it along the waters. It was fun getting bumped by other boats, laugh together, and tease each other.

image

One day isn’t enough. There are a lot more to see and experience in Baguio, unfortunately for me, I only alotted a day for it and now I am regretting. But of course, the day ends with a wonderful sunset… which closed my short travel to the City of Pines but I swear, I’ll come back and experience the rest of Baguio.

image

I love the cool weather in a city hidden behind the mountains… I’m coming back for you Strawberry Capital.

– K

