So this is actually the first book I’ll write about. And I would like to start writing now about something that really caught my heart.

The Kite Runner
By: Khaled Hosseini

image

A good friend told me that this is a nice read. I saw the words Afghanistan, politics, history, and I was like, “I hate history and politics, will I be able to finish this book?” But then I realized I must give the book something called the benefit-of-the-doubt so I opened it. Then here came awe.

First page is always a bore to me. The next page started to catch my attention, which is really something to me because no book has ever made me alert on the second page. Later on, I didn’t realized I was already fixing myself on a good seat, focused, and unable to put the book down, continuously shifting pages.

Every about maybe 10 to 15 pages, I stop to breathe. Because as I get deeper in the book, my emotions fill up and I can’t take it. It feels like I am watching the events as they happen and I can’t do anything about it even if I badly wanted to twist the plot and change it to my own liking because I just can’t take it! (Out of words, haha) It feels like my heart’s gonna burst into pieces.

Anyway, that’s how I felt while reading this book. Too magnetic you can’t resist. This book showed me what unconditional love means. This changed the way how I see love, the definition coming out with every word spoken, with every action taken. It is a MUST-READ.

Here’s a very short Summary about the most significant characters:

Amir Khan was a son of a wealthy man whom he refers to as Baba Khan, they’re Pashtuns.
Hassan was the son of Baba’s servant, Hazara, an inferior race.

They spent their lives together kite fighting and kite running with the other kids. Baba Khan loved them both and soon Amir got jealous about Baba’s affection for Hassan, who’s just the son of their servant, while he was seen by his own father as a weakling.

Baba expected that Amir would win the year’s kite fighting competition, and he did. Hassan who was the best kite runner, run the last kite for him. Hassan encountered Assef, the bully, who left him beaten and raped. Amir saw the incident but was scared to interfere. Later on, he planted a watch and some money under Hassan’s mattress in hopes that his father would send him away so that his guilt won’t eat him up everytime he sees Hassan.

Though Baba believed that theft is the only sin in the world, he forgave Hassan, but he and his father left anyway. Amir was freed from the nightmares of the incident and his guilt, but he lived in the past’s shadow all his life.

“For you, a thousand times over…”

K

